Trash The Dress

Now, you can’t tell me this doesn’t look fun!


As I’m heading into my wedding planning schooling, (Weekend goal, do work!) I’ve paid an increased interest in various wedding traditions around the world. This recent one really caught my eye, and I have to admit I have become a fan. Trash The Dress is a fairly new happening where the bride and groom (or 99 brides, in the photo above) go roll around in mud or jump in water, and well, ruin their bridal attire. Hey, it’s fine. That dress will only be worn once in your life, and if the attachment to it is severe enough, you can always get it dry cleaned.

This particular event took place in the Netherlands on September 9, 2009, but the first “Mass Trash the Dress” event was recorded on 08/08/08… and thus there was 10/10/10 and so on.

Some Claim the first photographer to come up with the idea was John Cooper, in Las Vegas but destroying wedding dresses has been a part of Hollywood since 1998.

You can trash your dress in many ways. Here are a few of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

